DIY · Tutorials

Spring Pillows

At the beginning of the year I like to set some goals/challenges for myself. One of them this year is what I call my “make something a month challenge”. I thought this would help me learn new skills, improve on some old ones, and keep the creative juices flowing.

In January I was really longing for spring. Spring is my favorite time of the year. I love the new life, the lush, vibrant, bright greens, the flowers, the pops of color everywhere, the warmer weather, the longer days. Yes, spring is my favorite. And when the holidays are over, and the long, cold, dark weeks of January hit I yearn for some fresh, bright colors, and spring weather.

So I decided for the month of January I would make some spring pillows. I went to Hobby Lobby because they have a nice selection of fabrics, and they have a 40% off coupon always available. I hunted around for a while, and finally decided on two patterns. Both have a soft, fresh brightness to them that captured my attention. One had a beautiful bird pattern with pops of color, and the other had a beautiful powder blue background with cotton blossoms. Since we live in the south I couldn’t resist. I got to work on them right away. I love pillows because they are easy to make and do not take much time. They make great statement pieces, and add character to a room without breaking the bank. I am thrilled with how they turned out, and we have been enjoying them immensely.

Spring Pillows

Hope that gives some inspiration and gets your create and make groove on. Over the next few weeks I will be sharing some other items that I have made for the make a month challenge. If you would like to look at how to make pillows in more detail please see this previous post.

roosterComing up: Cheesecake Recipe – Friday, May 12th

roosterComing up: Spring Mantel Décor Tour – Wednesday, May 24th

One thought on “Spring Pillows

Leave a Reply

