Uncategorized

!Puppies!

I figured it was time to come out of hibernation seeing as it is spring and all. The holidays are always a busy time, and this year Christmas got even busier for us because we got a puppy! Her name is Brigitte, but we call her Brig or Brigs for short. She is a Bernese Mountain Dog. I chose her name for two reasons. 1.) Brigitte is a Swiss name. 2.) Brig is a town in Switzerland. Bernese Mountain Dogs or Berners originate from Switzerland, and are a working class breed. They were used to pull carts of produce, milk, and various other items up and down the mountains of Switzerland. It was an amazing blessing that was completely unexpected. I had wanted a Bernese Mountain Dog when I was in high school, and now my dream came true! Brig is a bundle of energy, and growing like a weed. She was tiny when we first got her. Now she is 6 months old and already weighs in at 60 lbs.! She is going to be a big girl. We had Brig for about a month, and then the opportunity came to get a Golden Retriever puppy. The husband and I decided since we work full time it would be nice for Brig to have a play mate, so we got the Golden Retriever too. Her name is Stella. I named her after some of my favorite poetic works Astrophel and Stella by Sir Philip Sydney. Brig and Stella became fast friends. They are both as sweet, energetic, and loyal as can be. But needless to say from December until just a few weeks ago our lives were an on the go ball of fur and craziness. We were continually taking the dogs out to potty train them. This included getting up at 2:00 or 3:00 in the morning, then at 5:00 in the morning, and driving home every day on my lunch break to let them out. We were doing a happy dance once they got older and could hold it for longer stretches of time. It was one of those funny things that felt so L O N G when we were in the middle of it, and then like nothing once we were out of it on the other side. We all survived, and had a lot of fun…for most of it. A bonus was seeing some  amazing sunrises. Plus we figured we got good pre-training for if and when kids come along. Recently we had a fence put in the yard, and the pups are now enjoying themselves immensely running around all day outside. Now that the girls are outside and are older I feel like we are finally getting back to some semblance of order, so I thought it was time to get back to the blog. I have a few projects I am excited to show you, and I have a few recipes that I have tried recently that were delish. So stay tuned! I thought I would leave you with a few pictures of the pups. Because puppies!!!

Here is my sweet Berner baby: Brig

Bernese-Mountain-Girl-Puppy

Puppies 1

Puppies 2
That face!
Puppies 3
Brig and Stella
Puppies 4
6 months old
puppies 5
Helping with yard work

 

roosterComing up: Spring Pillows – Wednesday, May 17th

roosterComing up: Cheesecake Recipe – Friday, May 19th

~Kate

Leave a Reply

