Food · Mondays With Millie

Meal Plan Monday and Millie

fall

It is an absolutely gorgeous day today. The sun is shining and there is a gentle, cool breeze whispering through the leaves that are starting to exchange their green attire to yellow, orange, red, and brown. With weather like this I couldn’t resist grabbing my lap top, slicing some apples, steeping some tea, grabbing some ginger lemon cookies, breaking out our fall owl mugs, and sitting on the porch. I was hoping this beautiful autumnal weather would provide inspiration for the task at hand – meal planning for the week. I was not disappointed, and as you will notice, it conjured up several recipes with a fall flare.  Since I work full time I like finding meals that are quick, simple, healthy, and tasty. Making dinner throughout the week though can be somewhat of a challenge: thinking of what to have, finding recipes, trying not to get stuck in a rut of the same thing week after week. I have found I have to be intentional about actually planning for the week, and not just winging it. Inevitably when I wing it we eat unhealthy food, I buy more food because I didn’t get the meat that we had out of the freezer, or we go out to eat. So I have found that taking the time to write everything out for the week and planning ahead has been a tremendous help on using what we have, shopping for what I need, eating healthier, trying new recipes, and saving money. When I plan the meals out for the week I try to use recipes that will make enough for several meals. It helps time wise during the week to have several leftover nights.  I like when friends or family share recipes and meal plans they have. I find it helpful, and thought I would share meal plans on the blog each week. It will help motivate me, and I hope it will serve as a helpful and fun resource for others on their meal planning journey each week. Please share tips and tasty recipes that you love in the comments!

Dinner for the Week:

Monday: Spaghetti squash with tomato sauce, salad, and garlic bread.

Prep: Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Cut spaghetti squash in half. Scoop out seeds. Place face down on a cookie sheet. Cook for around an hour or until tender. With a fork scrape out the squash.  Add sauce.

Tuesday:  White Chicken Chili

Recipe: I am using The Skinny Fork’s recipe. You can find it here on my Pinterest board “Soup’s On”.

Wednesday: Leftover spaghetti squash with a salad.

Thursday: One Pan Autumn Chicken Dinner

Recipe: I am using Cooking Classy’s recipe. You can find it here on my Pinterest board “Dinner is Served”

Friday: Left over white chicken chili.

Saturday: Left over autumn chicken dinner.

 

I don’t always plan it to have leftovers on Saturday, but if it works out that way it is fine with me. It gives me more time to get things done around the house.

To close the post out I couldn’t end a Monday without Millie. She graciously allowed the other hens to join in on the pictures. Several weeks ago we had spaghetti squash for dinner, and I gave the girls the seeds. They love it, and I love that nothing is wasted.

roosterComing up: Egg muffin recipe – Tuesday, October 4th

roosterComing up: Chicken Breeds-Egg Layers 2 – Friday, October 7th (you can see the previous Chicken Breeds post here)

Happy Monday!

~Kate

millie-2

millie-1-1

millie-3

 

 

3 thoughts on “Meal Plan Monday and Millie

Leave a Reply

