Recipes

Apple Spice Cake

We are getting the faintest hint of a whisper of fall here in the south. It is only cool in the morning…make that early morning. Despite the warm weather I went ahead and made a spice cake this past weekend. I love this recipe for a number of reasons. It uses all natural ingredients, as far as cakes go it is on the healthier side, I think it tastes amazing without frosting, and it was fairly simple to make. I used a vegan cake recipe. I only modified three ingredients. {.1.} I used regular dairy milk instead of soy milk, so my version wasn’t technically a vegan cake. And just my two cents worth, if you did not want to use regular milk I would use almond milk instead of soy. {.2.} I did not have all-spice. I improvised and added a little clove, nut meg, and pumpkin pie spice. The cake still tasted wonderful, and in a manner of speaking it did cover a variety of spices, so it can pass for all-spice, right? {.3.} I did not use pecans because we are not fans of nuts in our desserts. To mix both the cake and frosting I used a hand mixer. I also invested in an apple peeler and corer. It works like a charm, and helps tremendously time wise. I will post more about it at a later time. After I peeled and cored the apples I put them in my blender and chopped them into fine pieces. Now that we have covered the preliminaries let’s get to cake making!

Apple Spice Cake Ingredients

1 1/4 C milk

2 tsp apple cider vinegar

2 1/2 C all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp all-spice

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 C peeled & shredded apple

1/3 C coconut oil (soft but not melted)

1 C packed brown sugar

1/2 tbsp molasses

2 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 C pecans, roughly chopped (optional)

Directions:

In a small bowl whisk together the milk and the apple cider vinegar. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, all-spice, ginger, and sea salt.

In a medium mixing bowl beat together the coconut oil and brown sugar. Then beat in the molasses, vanilla extract, and milk & vinegar combination until smooth.

Add the liquid ingredients and shredded apple to the dry ingredients. Fold the batter until it is combined. Do not over mix the batter.

Lightly oil 2 x 7 1/4″ cake pans with a little but of coconut oil. Divide the batter evenly between the cake pans. Spread out the batter so it is even.

Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out of the center clean.

Take the cakes out of the pans and place on a cooling wrack. Let cool and then the cake is ready for the frosting.

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting Ingredients:

8 oz. cream cheese

4 C powered sugar

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

Directions:

In a large mixing bowl beat butter, powdered sugar, pumpkin pie spice, and pinch of salt. While the mixer is still running add in the vanilla extract. Cut the cream cheese into cubes and place them in the mixture one at a time until they are combined. Once combined you are ready to frost the cake.

Once I frosted my cake I sprinkled it with some pumpkin pie spice on the top. The cake is more dense since it does not use eggs or butter. But it is delicious and tastes like fall in your mouth. My house smelled delightful and I couldn’t stop sniffing the cakes when they came out of the oven. I used http://www.hotforfoodblog.com apple spice cake recipe and http://www.number-2-pencil.com pumpkin cream cheese frosting recipe. You can find both on my Pinterest board “Dessert” here. I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as I did!

roosterComing up: Meal Plan Monday and Mondays with Millie – 10/03/16

apple-spice-cake-1

apple-spice-cake-3

apple-spice-cake-4

2 thoughts on “Apple Spice Cake

Leave a Reply

